Magical Monday

I believe we can all effect positive change … if one person does something good for another, both peoples spirit “light up” and fuels the desire to do more “good” deeds.  I believe that we are all connected and that one smile, one genuine word of kindness, one moment of holding the door open for someone behind can make another person feel good.  Then they will go into the world and give someone else a smile, speak a kind word, hold a door wide open for someone else.  So, I wanted to share a really neat “pay it forward” that I found while I was ordering some books for my daughter from Scholastic Books. 

Ahhh, Scholastic Books, love them!  They have the flyer that comes home with your kid requesting the parents to purchase a book or two (at a nicely discounted price, of course).  The books then show up at a later date in the classroom.  My daughter LOVES when getting these books.  She gets the flyer, circles the books she would most like to have (she is an amazing reader), and then waits in anticipation for weeks for the Scholastic Book order to arrive.   I like to add a “surprise” book to the order, one that I think she would enjoy but that she didn’t circle.  My surprise pick this time was Nancy Drew & the Clue Crue #1: Sleepover Sleuths by Carolyn Keene.  I chose this because 1. Stella is really getting into reading “series” and 2. I loved reading the Nancy Drew series as a kid (and I loved the tv show, too….Shhhhh).

Anyway, I was on the Scholastic site and saw a link about “bookprints”.  Of course, I had to find out more. (I can not figure out how to get things to link to sites, so to go to this site, you will have to cut and past the URL into your browser. Sorry.  http://youarewhatyouread.scholastic.com/adults/)  Apparently, there is this thing called a Bookprint – “the list of books that leave an indelible mark on our lives, shaping who we are and who we become”.  You can look at celebrity bookprints or create a bookprint account and find out your own bookprint, then connect with other people online who have created their bookprint profiles.   The really great part about this is that when you create your own bookprint, Scholastic Book Club will donate one book in your honor to Reach Out and Read, a program that is “Immunizing Children Against Illiteracy”.  Here is their site (again, cut and past for now) http://www.reachoutandread.org/impact/.  Reach Out and Read claims that:

More than one-third of American children enter kindergarten without the basic language skills they will need to learn to read. Those critical early literacy skills include recognizing the letters of the alphabet, understanding that books move from left to right, and being able to understand and tell stories.

-Despite the billions of dollars Americans have invested in remedial reading programs, those millions of children who enter school unprepared are highly likely to never catch up. In fact, 88% of first graders who are below grade level in reading will continue to read below grade level in fourth grade. (Juel, 1988)

Yikes!

For me, some of my favorite times are reading books.  And now that my daughter is an avid reader, we read books together (she reads hers and I read mine but we sit side-by-side).  I also read to her before she goes to bed at night (A little habit I picked up from my step-mother, who would read to my brother and I before bedtime. It is a fond memory and I hope I am creating those memories for my daughter,as well).  

Creating a bookprint looks like fun, helps you connect with other readers AND promotes a worthwhile cause!  Magical!!!! *-love.

Leave a Reply

